Purge Duplicates/ Redundant
This Tech Tip explains how to delete duplicate entities, unreferenced blocks and unused layers.
Drawings that load and redraw very slowly almost always have one of the following problems:
This function can solve both these problems by deleting unreferenced blocks and duplicate entities. It can also delete unused layers. File Menu › Purge Duplicates/Redundant
- Large numbers of invisible unreferenced AutoCAD blocks. This will only be the case if all or part of a drawing has been imported as a DXF or DWG file.
- Entities that have been duplicated. In this case you may find other problems with the drawing, for example deleted entities may seem to reappear!
AllyCAD will prompt:
Remove Duplicate Entities ? (Yes/No)
Click Yes to remove duplicate entities from the drawing. AllyCAD will prompt:
Remove unreferenced Blocks? (Yes/No)
Click Yes to remove the unreferenced Blocks. AllyCAD will prompt:
Remove unreferenced layers ? (Yes/No)
Click Yes to remove unreferenced layers.
After clicking Yes, AllyCAD will show you the progress of the removal, at the bottom of the screen.
AllyCAD will go through the drawing, purging it. It will tell you what it has removed.
The user is informed about how may duplicate patterns and elements are removed, click OK to continue.
The user is informed about how many blocks are removed, click OK to continue.
The user is informed about how many layers are removed, click OK to continue.
Once the drawing has been purged, save the drawing, when saving give the drawing a different name to the original.
Note: Large drawings may take quite a while to purge.
print friendly version